MortaL Named As A Finalist In The Esports Awards


AFK Gaming

MortaL Named As A Finalist In The Esports Awards

Nutan Lele
Published On: 

The Esports Awards, created to celebrate the industry’s movers and shakers, released the second instalment of its spotlight show series with a new wave of announcements. The show introduced this year's community finalists which include iconic figures of the gaming world like Alex "Goldenboy" Mendez, Naman “MortaL” Mathur, Imane “Pokimane” Anys and Eefje “Sjokz” Depoortere. The show also announced a few more new awards and revealed the #FortheGamers Esports Awards Fund.

The Esports Awards Categories

The spotlight show announced the first phase of the Esports Awards finalists with the community awards which include Esports Collegiate Award, Esports Content Creator of the Year, Esports Mobile Game of the Year, Esports Personality of the Year and Streamer of the Year. In addition to these, two new creative awards were announced, namely Esports Creative Team of the Year and Esports Content Pieces of the Year

The Esports Awards' Streamer of the Year category also includes one of India’s most popular PUBG MOBILE streamers MortaL, who is also the owner of Team SouL. Personalities like Hecz and Nadeshot have been nominated for multiple awards. 

 Esports Content Creator of the Year

  • Ashley Kang
  • Esports Talk
  • Musty
  • Hecz
  • Nadeshot
  • UpUpDownDown

 Esports Mobile Game of the Year

  • Clash Royale
  • Brawl Stars
  • Free Fire
  • Arena of Valor
  • Call of Duty Mobile
  • Clash of Clans
  • Mobile Legends

 Esports Personality of the Year

  • Ocelote
  • Goldenboy
  • Nadeshot
  • Sjokz
  • Dr Lupo
  • Faker
  • Hecz
  • Froskurinn
  • Fallen

 Streamer of the Year

  • Dr Lupo
  • Pokimane
  • TimTheTatman
  • Summit1G
  • Gaules
  • XQC
  • Ibai
  • CourageJD
  • MortaL
  • Swagg
  • Asmongold

Esports Collegiate Award

  • The University of California at Irvine
  • Maryville University of Saint Louis
  • Full Sail University
  • Kevin Hoang
  • NACE
  • NUEL
  • College Carball
  • Tyrelle Appleton

“At the Esports Awards, we pride ourselves on listening to the community and providing a platform to celebrate those who may go unnoticed. The creatives of the industry are some of the most talented individuals and we look forward to bringing to light the work they do,” said Michael Ashford, Managing Director, Esports Awards. “As the esports industry adapts and showcases its resilience during these tough times we hope we can continue to showcase and celebrate the individuals that make a difference. I am very proud of the direction that the Esports Awards is heading and look forward to building upon the esports legacy.”  

Dr DisRespect winning 2019's Streamer of the Year

Unfortunately due to the current global situation and the worldwide lockdowns, the Esports Awards has decided to cancel the Esports Live Event of the Year award. However, Esports Live Event of the Year will return in 2021 when live events resume.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is also returning in a new format for 2020 with the recipients being announced throughout the year on the Esports Awards spotlight shows. The Lifetime Achievement Award honours individuals, who have had a long-lasting impact and have dedicated their professional life to improving the industry. Previous inductees have included the likes of 100 Thieves founder Matthew ‘Nadeshot’ Haag and Head of Creator Development at Twitch Marcus ‘DJWHEAT’ Graham.

#FortheGamers Esports Awards Fund

#FortheGamers Esports Awards Fund is an initiative which aims to give back to the esports community and find the next generation of the industry. In partnership with eFuse, the Esports Awards will award $10,000 dollars to an applicant at the brink of success and who, with the given resources, will excel in the industry. 

Applications are now open through the Esports Awards website and three finalists will be selected in October. These finalists will participate in a series of interviews with current esports industry leaders and influencers. The criteria for the award is based on the finalists’ impact within the esports community, the potential for growth and how they plan on using the funds to make their mark on the Esports industry. 

 Matthew Benson, Founder & CEO, eFuse said in a statement, “It’s a privilege to be able to partner with the guys over at the Esports Awards to continue eFuse’s mission of creating life-changing opportunities. Every day we see more and more talented individuals make their entrance into industry and we want to provide them with the resources to reach the next level. The #FortheGamers Esports Awards Fund is truly unique and we can’t wait to discover the next generation of esports leaders that we have no doubt will be celebrated on an Esports Awards stage in years to come.” 

Nutan is AFK Gaming's source for everything from Twitch to the Twitterati. Her focus lies in distilling esports content from around the world. As the former captain of Girlaxy India, she brings an experienced eye in analysing the League of Legends scene.