Wood rank in League of Legends Arena 2v2v2v2 mode


Is There a Wood Rank in League of Legends?

Are the memes true?!

Sadakshi Kalyan Ramun
Updated On: 
The Arena mode or the 2v2v2v2 team deathmatch mode is a mashup of League of Legends and Teamfight Tactics.
This new mode will have a separate ranking system to make the mode a bit competitive and exciting to play.

If you have played League of Legends long enough, you would know the feeling of getting called or calling someone “wood” or “plastic” rank in the game. However, in theory, in League of Legends, the rank tiers start from Iron and then goes up all the way to Challenger. The question that looms large is why are League of Legends players suddenly obsessed with the wood rank and whether it is actually present in the game. The short answer to this is: Yes. There is a ‘wood’ rank in League of Legends but just not in the conventional ranked mode. Riot Games has introduced a separate ranking system for its 2v2v2v2 mode also called Arena.

Here’s all we know about the Arena mode (2v2v2v2) and its separate rank tiers.

League of Legends Arena: Rank Tiers & More

Along with 2023’s Summer Event called Soul Fighters, Riot Games is also finally releasing the much-anticipated 2v2v2v2 game mode. It is called Arena and it is basically a mashup of League of Legends and Teamfight Tactics (TFT). The aim of this team deathmatch-esque mode is all about putting players straight into the action faster, forcing them to respond to huge power-ups, and tempting players to try “truly wacky nonsense.” 

You team up with a friend or a solo queue comrade to fight other pairs in a series of 2v2 fights. Once in the game mode, you will be armed with powerful Augments that change the way your champ plays and buy items that you know and love. 

Just like TFT, each team has collective health that takes damage every time they lose a round. A team is eliminated when their collective health drops to zero and below, while the last team standing with health wins the entire game. The best part about this mode is that eliminated players can leave the game early and immediately queue up for another match. 

Riot Games said, “In order to make this game mode appeal to both types of players we drew some inspiration from our neighbors on TFT and added a ladder that players can climb like they have in Hyper Roll.” 

The ranks in Arena mode are as follows going from lowest to highest:

  • Wood

  • Bronze

  • Silver

  • Gold

  • Gladiator

Notably, players will gain points by placing in the top two teams, and lose points by placing in the bottom two. However, players do not have to worry about needing to win right away since Riot Games has added loss mitigation for the first five games one plays. As a result, during those five games, you can only gain points.

So make sure you queue up in the game mode as soon as it releases with LoL Patch 13.14 on 20th July and escape the Wood rank!

Published On: 
author profile picture
Sadakshi has been a gamer throughout her life and has followed League of Legends since Season 3, immediately falling in love with the esports scene. Bringing in her print journalism experience, she focuses on content that is both informative and innovative. While her heart still remains with League, her love for competition has pushed her to explore other titles such as Valorant and Apex Legends.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read