Counter-Strike 2: All Game Modes in CS2


Counter-Strike 2: All Game Modes in CS2

Are you still surfing?

Aditya Singh Rawat
Updated On: 
There are a total of five different game modes in Counter-Strike 2 that current players can enjoy.
The premier game mode awards players with rating which is a representation of their skill.
The workshop consists of multiple game modes where players can improve their skills and enjoy doing different things.

Counter-Strike 2 (CS2) is the unexpected sequel to CS:GO which caught the community by surprise when it was announced earlier this year. All the players were delighted that CS2 was finally upgraded with the Source 2 video game engine.

This has allowed the maps in the game to look more beautiful especially Inferno which was remade for the new version instead of simply being ported like most of the other maps.

CS2 also consists of some core game modes that contribute to the popularity of this game. Though the new version currently only consists of a limited number of game modes, here is information about all of them.

All Game Modes in Counter-Strike 2: Complete Details

The current version of Counter-Strike 2 has plenty of bugs causing gameplay issues that still exist in the game and CS2 developers are actively taking care of all these problems to ensure that gamers have a clean, fair, and enjoyable experience playing the game they adore so much.

However, it is not enough to stop the players from playing the game and grinding their ranks or ratings. Here is complete information about all the game modes available in Counter-Strike 2.

Counter-Strike 2: Premier Game Mode

This has been developed as the main game mode of Counter-Strike 2 where players compete to earn a rating that defines their skill in the game.

The premier game mode is a competitive 5v5 match where both teams get a chance to pick and ban maps. It follows an ELO system that matches you or your team against similar opponents.

All matches under this game mode follow a race to thirteen rounds, where a tie forces an overtime, but another tie results in a draw, which will also affect the ratings of players on both sides.

Premier has turned out to be the most played game mode amongst users as it represents their true skill and has attracted those ready to put in the grind.

Counter-Strike 2: Competitive Game Mode

The competitive game mode is the good old style of matchmaking that most Counter-Strike players are used to.

However, few changes have been made to its structure so that it behaves as a serious enough game mode where players can prepare themselves before attempting to obtain their rating.

  1. Matches follow a race to thirteen rounds instead of fifteen.

  2. A tied score ends in a draw instead of going into overtime.

  3. Players have individual ranks for each map instead of a single overall rank.

Counter-Strike 2: Competitive Game Mode

Counter-Strike 2: Casual Game Mode

The casual game mode is perfect for beginners or those thinking of warming up a bit before resuming their grind.

It plays out exactly like a competitive match would but the key difference is that there are 10 players on either side and even the economy behaves in a slightly different manner.

In addition to this, all players can view killcams after being taken down, spectating anyone be it an ally or enemy.

Counter-Strike 2: Deathmatch Game Mode

This is one of the classic game modes that is timeless and works as the perfect place where players can practice their aim and get into the preferred zone before entering the competitive grind.

The game mode lasts for ten minutes during which players are auto-equipped with full armor and can use any weapon of their choice, roaming around the map and getting frags which rewards them with points.

A frag with any gun is worth 11 points, but if the player decides to use the bonus weapon it adds five extra points to their tally for each frag secured with it.

This bonus weapon keeps changing so make sure to keep an eye out and make the swap accordingly. The player with highest number of points at the end is declared as the winner.

Counter-Strike 2: Workshop Game Mode

This is a collection of many different types of game modes, where players can host custom games of their own to practice with friends or simply join other community maps.

Here players can do everything from practicing their aim, recoil control, movement, and utility lineups, or do crazy things like surfing, getting themselves the perfect crosshair, learning how to clear all the important angles while retaking a site, and many other bizarre things that are quite popular in the commuity.

Counter-Strike 2: Workshop Game Mode

These are all the game modes that are currently available in Counter-Strike 2. Yes, the game's very own battle royale game mode called Danger Zone has not arrived in the new version till now.

It might come at a later stage, once the gameplay has been improved after taking care of all the issues and bugs that currently plague CS2. Till then you can enjoy the game modes listed above and start the grind towards improving your rating.

Published On: 
author profile picture
Aditya is the in-house CS:GO writer at AFK Gaming. While his understanding of the esports space is not restricted by geographical borders, his current focus lies in the Asian region. Understands and follows almost all major esport titles.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read