Garena Free Fire City Open: Participating Cities, Format and Other Details



Garena Free Fire City Open: Participating Cities, Format and Other Details

John Dave Rossel
Published On: 
  • Players can sign up in-game through the Free Fire Cup (FFC) on April 26 until April 30, 2021.
  • The 4-month long tournament will feature the top 12 Free Fire teams from various cities as they compete to win from a prize pool of INR 60 lakh.
  • Here are more details about the tournament.

Garena is inviting Free Fire players across India to represent their own city/state for their first-ever Free Fire City Open, the first-of-its-kind national tournament. The Free Fire City Open will feature the top twelve teams from across the nation as they compete for the INR 60 Lakh prize pool. The twelve teams will consist of the top ten teams from eight states, which have been named after their major city – Delhi, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Chennai, Lucknow, and Visakhapatnam. The remaining two teams are the wild cards who hail from outside the eight states. Here is everything you need to know about the Free Fire City Open.

RELATED:  New Character in Free Fire, Maro: Price, Skills, How to Get

Garena Announces Free Fire City Open: Details

Garena Free Fire City Open: Participating Cities, Format and Other Details
The Free Fire City Open is a nationwide tournament for Indian Free Fire Fans.

The Free Fire City Open will feature twelve teams across India who will compete for the lion’s share of the INR 60 Lakh prize pool. Esports enthusiasts can sign-up through the Free Fire Cup (FFC) mode from today, April 26, until the match day on April 30, 2021.

Free Fire City Open: Participating Cities

Garena chose these participating regions via a public poll. The top eight most voted cities/states are the following;

  • Delhi
  • Mumbai (Maharashtra)
  • Hyderabad (Telangana)
  • Ahmedabad (Gujarat)
  • Kolkata (West Bengal)
  • Chennai (Tamil Nadu)
  • Lucknow (Uttar Pradesh)
  • Visakhapatnam (Andhra Pradesh)

The teams will consist of ten teams from the eight mentioned cities/states with two wild card teams from outside the cities(states) mentioned above. 

Free Fire City Open: Tournament Format

The qualifying teams will be chosen based on their individual city finals; two teams selected from the play-ins between the teams ranked #2 to #4 from each of the eight city finals; and two wildcard teams which will be the best teams chosen from the rest of India from outside of the eight participating cities.

The tournament will start with the FFC Mode on April 30, followed by the city finals sometime in June 2021. Garena will reveal more details at a later date.

RELATED:  Free Fire K.O. Night Peak Day Rewards: How To Collect

Through the Free Fire City Open, Garena aims to continue its efforts towards delivering quality esports events and exciting content to the Indian community to support and develop the incredible talent all across the nation by offering them a platform to display their skills.

author profile picture

John is a mobile esports writer for AFK Gaming that specializes in Wild Rift and Mobile Legends, whilst also maintaining an overview of the Free Fire, COD Mobile and PUBG Mobile esports scenes.

Follow us on social media