Diablo 4 Season of the Blood: How Does the Revamped Renown Mechanic Work?


Diablo 4 Season of the Blood: How Does the Revamped Renown Mechanic Work?

Surya Kumar
Updated On: 
The Renown mechanic allows players to gain various rewards such as Skill Points, Potion Charges, Paragon points, and Obal Caps upon completing various challenges.
There are five different tiers of challenges to earn Renown points and each region has its own Renown system.

Blizzard’s Diablo 4 received a brand new update on 17th October called the Season of Blood. Similar to the Season of Malignant, this new update brought a host of improvements to the title such as Renown changes, a revamped progression system, etc. along with new questlines, seasonal events, season journey objectives, end-game bosses, and more. Numerous players are logging back into their accounts to begin their grind once again, but this time they have Vampiric Powers at their disposal which further adds to the game’s immersion. If you are interested in checking out the new season and are curious about all the new mechanics in Diablo 4, you have stumbled upon the right guide. Let’s delve into it.

Diablo 4 Season of the Blood: What Is the New Renown System?

Essentially, Renown is a currency and a gameplay mechanic that offers rewards like Skill Points, Paragon Points, Potion Charges, and Obal Cap upgrades along with bonus Gold and XP if you take the time to roam around and explore the main regions of the game, such as Dry Steppes, Fractured Peaks, Kehjistan, etc.

You can earn Renown points by doing the following:

  • Discover an Area: 5 Renown

  • Find an Altar of Lilith: 10 Renown

  • Unlock a Waypoint: 20 Renown

  • Finish a Side Quest: 30 Renown

  • Clear a Side Dungeon: 40 Renown

  • Clear a Stronghold: 100 Renown

How Does the Renown System Work in Diablo 4 Season Two?

Diablo 4 contains five Renown tiers; each of them unlocks as you continue to gain more Renown points. You gain rewards such as XP, Gold, Skill Points, Potion Charges Obols, and Paragon Points. Here are the tiers:

Tier One: Gather 200 Renown

  • 3,000 Gold

  • 1x Skill Point

  • Bonus XP

Tier Two: Gather 300 Renown to reach a total of 500

  • 10,000 Gold

  • 1x Potion Charge

  • Bonus XP

Tier Three: Gather 400 Renown to reach a total of 900

  • 25,000 Gold

  • 1x Skill Point

  • Bonus XP

Tier Four: Gather 400 Renown to reach a total of 1300

  • 60,000 Gold

  • 80 Max Obols

  • Bonus XP

Tier Five: Gather 500 Renown to reach a total of 1800

  • 125,000 Gold

  • 4 Paragon Points

  • Bonus XP

Do note that Tier Four and Five require you to be playing ar World Tier 3 to unlock them. You must also know that your Renown resets once you reach a new reward tier. These rewards you acquire from completing Renown tiers apply to all the characters in your account. Each region in the game has its own Renown system and completing all the tiers in all five regions will grant you the following: 

  • 5 Potion Charges

  • 10 Skill Points

  • 20 Paragon points

  • 400 Max Obols

  • 1,115,000 Gold

While the previous season only transferred Renown gained from map discovery and Altairs of Lilith to your seasonal characters, Season of Blood allows you to transfer your entire Renown points, even if they were unlocked using an old character.

Published On: 
author profile picture
Surya has been an avid gamer all his life with an emphasis on single-player titles since the PlayStation 2 era. After switching to PC, he has also dabbled in the world of Valorant ever since its beta. He aims to spread his passion for gaming through his writing.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read