The president of South Korea, Yoon Suk Yeol, released a statement congratulating T1 on Worlds 2023 win


South Korea President Congratulates T1 on Iconic Worlds 2023 Win

Sadakshi Kalyan Ramun
Updated On: 
Korean esports organization T1 made history on 19th November as it won Worlds 2023 on home soil.
Notably, this marks the organization's fourth League of Legends championship.
Interestingly, three of T1's players won the Asian Games 2022 League of Legends tournament in September 2023.

The world of League of Legends and its esports continue to celebrate T1's iconic Worlds 2023 win at the Gocheok Sky Dome in Seoul, South Korea on 19th November. With this victory, T1 has cemented itself as one of the storied esports organizations in the world.

Amidst all the celebrations and pouring support, the President of South Korea, Yoon Suk Yeol, congratulated T1 on its historic fourth League of Legends Worlds victory. The President released a statement and this was shared and translated by Korizon Esports’ Ashley Kang.

South Korea President Lauds T1 After Worlds 2023 Win

League of Legends is viewed as more than just a game in South Korea. Some of the best players of this esport have come from the LCK [League of Legends Champions Korea]. Earlier in September, South Korea also won the gold medal at the Asian Games 2022 League of Legends event, proving that it is the strongest region in the world.

Appreciating T1 and its victory at Worlds 2023, South Korean President Yoon Suk Yeol congratulated the team and also promised to extend support to the Korean games industry.

According to Kang's translation, the statement read, "Dear T1 players, I wholeheartedly congratulate your first World Championship in seven years, your fourth World Championship."

The President also noted that in the Hangzhou Asian Games 2022, where esports was an official medal event for the first time, South Korea won four medals. The statement added, "In continuation of this success, [T1] has won Worlds and once again made South Korea renowned as the frontrunning country in esports."

The President noted that the scenes of the five T1 players — Lee "Faker" Sang-hyeok, Choi "Zeus" Woo-je, Moon "Oner" Hyeon-jun, Lee "Gumayusi" Min-hyeong, and Ryu "Keria" Min-seok — united as a team, lifting the trophy brought joy and moved Korean citizens and fans from across the world.

In the statement, the President promised that the South Korean government will offer support to the South Korea video game industry to ensure that it is globally competitive and becomes a frontrunner in the industry internationally.

T1 is now the team with the most League of Legends Worlds wins. It won the championship in the following years:

  • 2013 as SKT T1 (SK Telecom T1)

  • 2015 as SKT T1

  • 2016 as SKT T1

  • 2023 as T1

Notably, T1 also has placed second at Worlds in 2017 and 2022. Faker has been a crucial part of all these roster iterations over the years.

Published On: 
author profile picture
Sadakshi has been a gamer throughout her life and has followed League of Legends since Season 3, immediately falling in love with the esports scene. Bringing in her print journalism experience, she focuses on content that is both informative and innovative. While her heart still remains with League, her love for competition has pushed her to explore other titles such as Valorant and Apex Legends.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read