Riot Games Reveals New Honor Recall and Challenger Recall for League of Legends

Sadakshi Kalyan Ramun
Updated On: 
<div class="paragraphs"><p>Honor Recall</p></div>
Honor Recall


Riot Games revealed the new Honor and Challenger Recalls for League of Legends players.
Notably, these recall VFX will be available on both Summoner’s Rift and Howling Abyss.
Riot is also working on a special, exclusive skin for those reaching Honor level five as part of the end of the season rewards.

Riot Games, earlier this year, stated that it would be improving its approach to the Behavioral Systems in the game. The Honor 2.0 system was released in 2018 and it was the first rewards system of its kind but Riot acknowledged that it fell short of the community’s expectations since the company failed to update it.

As a result, it promised to up the rewards starting Season 12. Two months ago in March, Riot said that players who are Honor Level 5 or those who have received an Honor from either a non-premade or two premade players in the last game would get a special recall visual effects (VFX) in the game.

Honor Recalls in League of Legends

League of Legends VFX Artist Kristy Doan revealed the Honor Recall preview on her Twitter handle.

The Honor Recall has the same elements that can be seen on the Honor Level 5 Icon - Golden Orange hues, a garland at the champion’s feet, and a similar element on top of the champion who is recalling. The Honor 5 emblem can be seen while the recall animation is happening.

Challenger Recalls in League of Legends

Kristy Doan also wrote that there would be Challenger Recalls coming soon which was led by Senior Visual Effects Artist Kevin “Sirhaian” Leroy. Following this, Sirhaian shared the previews of the Challenger Recalls on his Twitter. He wrote, “Hiyo! I'm looking for feedback on the new Challenger Recall VFX! Hit me with all you've got. Fun fact: this is the first time I work on something that I know I will never be able to acquire.

The Challenger Recall has the same elements and decals as the Challenger emblem with gold and blue metallic tints.

Additionally, both the Honor Recall and the Challenger one will also be available in the All Random All Mid (ARAM) Mode on the Howling Abyss map, allowing players to show how honorable or amazing they are. However, they are toned down in this mode so that they don’t look like actual teleports.

It is noteworthy that the Challenger recall was introduced in 2019 and the Honor recall and the revamped Challenger Recall would be ways for the players to show off their achievements on Summoner’s Rift and Howling Abyss.

If you are excited to get these recalls, you would be doubly ecstatic to learn that Riot will also be adding a new skin for being Honorable in League of Legends. Riot wrote, “We’re working hard on an exclusive skin just for players who reach Honor 5 as part of the End of Season rewards. These exclusive rewards will give you a new way to show off in-game, in addition to existing Honor skins, chromas, and other rewards.” However, details about this Honor 5 exclusive skin are not yet revealed by the company.

Published On: 
author profile picture
Sadakshi has been a gamer throughout her life and has followed League of Legends since Season 3, immediately falling in love with the esports scene. Bringing in her print journalism experience, she focuses on content that is both informative and innovative. While her heart still remains with League, her love for competition has pushed her to explore other titles such as Valorant and Apex Legends.