Apex Legends Rank System: How It Works, Rewards, And More

Abhimannu Das
Published On: 
Apex Legends Rank System: How It Works, Rewards, And More


  • Apex Legends' Rank System is one of the most rewarding of its kind for a battle royale but new players might not be able to figure it out.
  • You are rewarded points for getting kills and assists and the longer you survive, the higher your score multiplier is.
  • The game offers numerous cosmetic rewards for reaching certain ranks with Predator and Master offering the best rewards.

Apex Legends’ Rank System is a ladder format that shows how you stack up against the rest of the playerbase. Additionally, you will receive in-game rewards at the end of the season based on the rank you achieve. The Apex Legends rank system is regarded as the best of its kind by many in the battle royale genre. Scoring kills and assists are rewarded just as much as winning and you will be able to climb the ranks quickly through strategic gameplay. Here is a quick breakdown of the Apex Legends Rank system, its rewards, and everything else you need to know about it. 

Apex Legends Rank System: Tiers

Ranked Leagues features seven competitive tiers: 

  • Bronze – 0 RP 
  • Silver – 1200 RP 
  • Gold – 2,800 RP 
  • Platinum – 4,800 RP 
  • Diamond – 7,200 RP 
  • Master – 10,000 RP 
  • Apex Predator (Top 750 players per platform) 

All of the tiers except Master Apex Predator have four divisions; Gold IV, Gold III, Gold II, and Gold I, for example, with Gold I being the top division in Gold tier. All players will start in Bronze IV for the launch of Ranked Leagues, but future Series should have a starting placement if you’ve climbed the ladder in previous Series.

Apex Legends Rank System: Ranked Entry Cost

  • Bronze Matches: Free
  • Silver Matches: 12RP
  • Gold Matches: 24RP
  • Platinum Matches: 36RP
  • Diamond Matches: 48RP
  • Master Matches: 60RP
  • Apex Predator Matches: 60RP

Apex Legends Rank System: Queue Restrictions

Ranked Leagues will require each player to be level 10 or higher to join. When you queue up with other friends in your lobby, the matchmaker will find a match for the highest-ranked player in that lobby, but each player will pay the appropriate match cost for their current rank. This is intended to not let high-ranked players completely carry their lower-ranked friends. If you queue up with your Diamond II friend as a Bronze III player, get ready for a difficult match. 

Apex Legends Rank System: Penalties

Ranked is a high-stakes, high-reward environment. Players who abandon their teammates will be hit with a matchmaking penalty in both regular and Ranked matches. Penalties will result in a player being barred from joining a match for escalating amounts of time based on how often they have abandoned in Ranked. An abandon is defined as leaving the game before the match is over for you; this includes leaving during character select, leaving while you are alive, and leaving when you are dead but can still be respawned by teammates. Penalty times start out at five minutes, and repeat abandons will increase that time up to a week.

Apex Legends Rank System: Loss Forgiveness

Similar to the Elite queue, there will be loss forgiveness in Ranked. Loss forgiveness is defined as zeroing out any potential losses in RP for a match. For example, in a Diamond match where you came in last place but had two kills, you would normally have a -2 adjustment to your RP (-4 from the Platinum entry cost, +2 for kills, for a net loss of -2). With loss forgiveness, however, you would have a net loss adjusted to 0. However, this will only apply if you stand to lose RP from the match – if you had five kills and loss forgiveness, your RP would still be net +1.

Apex will grant players loss forgiveness when their matchmade teammates abandon the game, and for other cases where Respawn determines you are not to blame for leaving a game e.g. client errors. Apex to be more lenient at the start of the Series but will be vigilant in monitoring player behaviour. Respawn will become stricter about granting loss forgiveness if Respawn detects it is being abused.

Apex Legends Rank System: Rewards

Here are all the rewards available to players. All rewards are based on the highest rank you achieve in either split of a Season. 

  • Ranked Icon (Available to all players) 
  • Ranked Icon Gun Charm (Available to all players)
  • Diamond Dive Trail (For Diamond players) 
  • Masters Dive Trail (For Masters Players) 
  • Predator Dive Trail (For Apex Predators) 

Rewards are available after the end of the season. 

RELATED:  Apex Legends Season 8 Split Date: Earn Your Ranked Rewards Now

author profile picture
Abhimannu is a PC esports writer at AFK Gaming. With over seven years of experience in esports journalism, he has worked on a myriad of games and their ecosystems including Valorant, Overwatch and Apex Legends.