Riot Games announced a new League of Legends tournament called the Season Kickoff 2023 in December that is replacing All Star

Cover-Credits: 

League of Legends Season Kickoff 2023: Regions, Format, Schedule, & More

Sadakshi Kalyan Ramun
Updated On: 
Highlights
Riot Games announced a new League of Legends tournament called the Season Kickoff in December 2022.
Season Kickoff 2023 will happen in nine regions and will celebrate the start of the new League of Legends ranked and esports season.
Here's all you need to know about Season Kickoff 2023

At the start of December 2022, Riot Games announced a brand-new competitive event called Season Kickoff. It stated that nine regional leagues will celebrate the start of the new competitive year for both League of Legends ranked and League of Legends Esports (LoL Esports) during this two-day Season Kickoff 2023.  With this announcement, Riot Games officially sunsetted the League of Legends: All-Star event after almost eight years. Notably, the Season Kickoff 2023 event will last a few hours in each region and once one league concludes, the next league will take over the broadcast. 

The nine regions are as follows:

  • China: League of Legends Pro League (LPL) 

  • Korea: League of Legends Champions Korea (LCK)

  • Europe, Middle East, and Africa [EMEA] - League of Legends EMEA Championship (LEC)

  • North America: League of Legends Championship Series (LCS)

  • Southeast Asia: Pacific Championship Series (PCS) 

  • Vietnam: Vietnam Championship Series (VCS)

  • Brazil: Campeonato Brasileiro de League of Legends (CBLOL)

  • Japan: League of Legends Japan League (LJL)

  • Latin America: The Liga Latinoamérica (LLA)


Season Kickoff 2023: All you need to know 

Simply put, the Season Kickoff event is replacing All-Star, an event that has provided players and fans with numerous special moments over the years and has conducted interesting in-game modes like the Tandem mode. Basically, the pros with the most votes from each region around the world would compete in a series of show matches in All-Star. 

While the drafting methods for Season Kickoff 2023 vary from region to region, a few rules remain the same. Here’s the format for the event:

  • Best of three (BO3) format (LPL alone will have BO1s)

  • No champion bans

  • No repeat champions: Once a champion has been played, they’re out of the pool. However, LPL will have an exception again since the region has more games

  • Each of the pro teams represented on the winning team will be able to create an emote with Riot Games designers to be added to League of Legends


Schedule for Season Kickoff 2023

The following are the schedules for 10th and 11th January 2023:

10th January 2023 (Tuesday)

  • LCK: 1-5 am PT/ 9 am - 1 pm GMT

  • VCS: 5-8 am PT/ 1-4 pm GMT

  • CBLOL: 8-11 am PT/ 4-7 pm GMT

  • LCS: 11 am - 2 pm/ 7-10 pm

  • Select rebroadcasts: 2 - 9 pm PT/ 10 PM - 5 am GMT

11th January 2023 (Wednesday)

  • LJL: 11 pm - 2 am PT/ 7-10 am GMT

  • LPL: 2-5 am PT/ 10 am -1 pm GMT

  • PCS: 5-8 am PT/ 1-4 pm GMT

  • LEC: 8-11 am PT/ 4-7 pm GMT

  • LLA: 11 am-2 pm/ 7-10 pm GMT

  • Select rebroadcasts: 2-8 pm PT/ 10 pm - 4 am


Fans can tune into Riot Games or the respective leagues' Twitch and YouTube channels on 10th and 11th January to watch the Season Kickoff live. You can also catch these games on the LoL Esports website.


Published On: 
author profile picture
Sadakshi has been a gamer throughout her life and has followed League of Legends since Season 3, immediately falling in love with the esports scene. Bringing in her print journalism experience, she focuses on content that is both informative and innovative. While her heart still remains with League, her love for competition has pushed her to explore other titles such as Valorant and Apex Legends.

Follow us on social media

facebook-logotwitter-logoinstagram-logodiscord-logolinkedin-logo
google-news-logo

Others Also Read