Fortnite Ranked Play Update Explained

Nutan Lele
Updated On: 
<div class="paragraphs"><p>Here is all you need to know about the Fortnite Ranked Play update.</p></div>
Here is all you need to know about the Fortnite Ranked Play update.


Fortnite is bringing some major changes to the game in terms of competitive play.
Here is all you need to know about the Fortnite Ranked Play update.

Fortnite is getting a Ranked Play mode which will let players climb through ranks and flex their tiers. Starting from v24.40, Battle Royale and Zero Build will each have a Ranked option. There are a total of eight ranks and multiple tiers through which you can level up to the top rank of ‘Unreal’. The Ranked Play mode will be replacing the Arena mode so get ready for the grind to earn ranked rewards. Here is all you need to know about the Fortnite Ranked Play update. 

Fortnite Ranked Play release date

Fortnite Ranked Play released on 16th May with the 24.40 update. The new mode launches as Season Zero and will last until the end of Chapter 4 Season 3. Season Zero will let the developer iron out any issues and bugs that may arise as well as add additional features and make “overall improvements for when Ranked starts following the normal Battle Royale Season schedule.”

All ranks in Fortnite Ranked Play

There are a total of eight Ranks in Fortnite Ranked Play: Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum, Diamond, Elite, Champion, and Unreal. 

Here is the Fortnite Ranked Play progression.&nbsp;

Once you make it to Unreal rank, you’ll stay Unreal for the rest of the season and you’ll be displayed on the Unreal leaderboard. You’ll be placed when you play a single match of ranked, and there will be a progress bar indicating how far you are from advancing to the next rank or returning to the previous one. As Zero Build and Battle Royale are separate, you must play a match in each of these modes to reveal your separate Rank for both.

Your progress depends on your match placement and how many eliminations you get. Eliminations later in the match will count more than eliminations earlier in the match and the ranks of the players you or your team eliminate will be taken into account.

Fortnite Ranked Play rewards

Players who play ranked matches will get a Ranked Urgent Quest. By completing these quests you’ll unlock Seasonal cosmetic rewards. A new Ranked Urgent Quest is given to players every match but the progress does not carry over between matches. Players will also receive a final cosmetic reward of Season Zero which is the Burn Bright Emote. You can activate this Emote to show off your current rank color (Bronze, Silver, Gold, etc.).

Published On: 
author profile picture
Nutan is experienced with content across various FPS, MOBA, and BR titles for both PC and mobile gaming. Basically, she's a Jill of all trades. As the former captain of an all-woman esports team, her roots lie firmly in PC gaming but she does enjoy that one map in Call of Duty: Mobile.