MPL PH Season 6 To Commence On August 21st

Nutan Lele
9/Aug/2020 02:55 pm

One of Southeast Asia’s largest Mobile Legends: Bang Bang tournaments, MPL Philippines, is coming back for its 6th Season on 21st August. This Season will include a prize pool of P6,000,000 ($120,000) on the line. The MPL PH Season 6 will be divided into 3 stages: the Qualifier Stage, the Regular Season, and the Playoff Round. The Qualifier Stage was held from 25th July - 26th July 2020 and teams from across the Philippines tested their mettle in the qualifiers for a chance to compete against the regions best. Cignal Ultra and Nexplay Solid nabbed the two Qualifier spots.

Format of the MPL Philippines Season 6

A total of 10 teams (8 invited teams and 2 qualified teams) are competing for the crown. These teams are split into 2 groups according to their playoffs ranking during Season 5. A total of 65 matches will be played in the 8-week Regular Season. Every team in the same group will compete with each other on Fridays and Saturdays, while Group A vs Group B Matches will happen Sundays.

There are some changes with the format and the number of heroes banned per game for MPL PH Season 6. From Regular Season Week 2, teams will now have a total of 5 bans available. With three bans in Phase 1 and two bans in Phase 2. This new tournament system will test every player's ability to the limit. 

MPL PH Season 6 Participating Teams:

  • AURA Philippines
  • Execration
  • Smart Omega
  • BSB
  • BNK Blufire
  • Blacklist International
  • BREN Esports
  • ONIC Philippines
  • Cignal Ultra

(Also Read: MLBB’s Project NEXT Focuses On Reworks For Miya And Alucard)

Qualifier Stage and Other Developments

Over 1,000 teams competed for the spots in the Qualifiers and Cignal Ultra and Nexplay Solid. The competition was tough with Arkangel Esports giving Cignal Ultra a hard time during the decider. Ultimately, Cignal Ultra pulled through with a 2-1 win and secured their spot in the Regular Season of MPL PH Season 6. 

With a new season of MPL Philippines set to begin this month, the Season 5 champions will fight to reclaim their title under a new team name. Formerly known as Sunsparks, team captain Chan “Rafflesia” Faura and his squad look to form the Philippine league’s first-ever dynasty by rallying under the banner of Indonesian esports organisation Aura. They will enter MPL S6 as Aura PH.

Catch all the action of MPL Philippines Season 6 on their YouTube Channel.

(Also Read: Which MLBB Hero has the Most Beautiful Visuals?)


Nutan Leletwitter_link


Nutan Lele is AFK Gaming's source for everything from Twitch to the Twitterati. Her focus lies in distilling mobile esports content from around the world. She is also the former captain of Girlaxy India.