Call of the Mountain Expansion Released For LoR

Nutan Lele
27/Aug/2020 11:23 am
  • Riot Games releases new Call of the Mountain expansion featuring 89 new cards.
  • The cards also feature some new abilities like Spellshield, Fury, Daybreak, Nightfall, Behold, and Evoke.

Riot Games released the Call of the Mountain expansion for Legends of Runeterra (LoR) today. The free-to-play card game is set in the League of Legends universe. After many other expansions like Bilgewater, the game has now introduced the Call of the Mountain expansion. This one introduces a new region of Targon and 89 collectable cards, including 7 champions, as well as a variety of new features & content. Call of the Mountain is now playable globally on PC, Android, and iOS.

Targon and Call of the Mountain

The expansion is headlined by 7 new champions from the League of Legends universe including Leona, Diana, Taric, and Aurelion Sol, as well as six new gameplay mechanics that offer all-new strategies to explore. It's the first of three expansions that will be set in Targon, the fourth overall region represented in the game. Regions are critically important to Legends of Runeterra as entire sets of cards revolve around them, and this expansion introduces Targon into the fray. "On this towering mountain, cosmic beings lend their might to mortals," Riot's official description reads. "Astral dragons soar beyond the sky. Tribes of the faithful devote themselves to the sun and moon."

Cards from this region focus on raw power, with a new "special pool of created cards representing the constellations" called Celestials at the centre of it. Following Call of the Mountain's release, Targon will have its own region road, giving players a lot to play around with.

(Also Read: PFG Announces Legends of Runeterra Tournament in India)

New Cards and Champions

89 new cards will be available in the Call of the Mountain expansion. 51 of these are from the new Targon region while the other 38 cards from existing regions. Players will be able to choose from 6 preconstructed Targon decks to get a better feel of the new gameplay mechanics. The cards also feature some new abilities like Spellshield, which "negates the next enemy spell or skill that would affect me," as well as 5 others called Fury, Daybreak, Nightfall, Behold, and Evoke.

With new cards come new Champions. Five of these come from Targon, including Leona, Diana, Aurelion Sol, and Taric. Other regions are also getting new Champions like Nocturne, Trundle, and Lulu.

Call of the Mountain will also introduce some more generalized updates to the game. As is the case with any new expansion, a new Ranked Season will kick off, which means that there are new Ranked Reward icons, challenges, and updated quests in Legends of Runeterra.

(Also Read: Legends Of Runeterra Mobile Is A Colorful, Engaging Experience)


Nutan Leletwitter_link


Nutan Lele is AFK Gaming's source for everything from Twitch to the Twitterati. Her focus lies in distilling mobile esports content from around the world. She is also the former captain of Girlaxy India.