ONE Esports MPL Invitational 2022 Officially Announced


ONE Esports

ONE Esports MPL Invitational (MPLI) 2022 Officially Announced

John Dave Rossel
Updated On: 
The ONE Esports MPLI 2022 will kick off on 2nd October.
The invitational event will feature 20 MPL teams from SEA competing for the lion's share of the $100,000 USD prize pool.
The Captain's Draft will be held on 28th October.

The Mobile Legends: Bang Bang Professional League Invitational (MPLI) 2022 is back featuring the best teams from all over Southeast Asia. The tournament will have a total of 20 teams competing for the lion’s share of the $100,000 USD prize pool. ONE Esports, in partnership with Moonton Games, will host the invitational event which will kick off in the first week of November. Before the MPLI officially begins, a Captain’s Draft will be held where teams will be distributed in their respective groups via a lottery-style draw. There will be four groups in the first stage of the tournament with the top contenders proceeding to the next phase.

MPLI 2022 to kick off on 2nd November

The upcoming invitational event will feature four days of action-packed matches with an official broadcast for Bahasa Indonesia, Bahasa Melayu, English, Tagalog, and Khmer.

The highly anticipated event will feature the top MPL teams in South East Asia (SEA). For the $100,000 USD prize pool, 20 teams will participate in a single elimination tournament with the main event set to take place from 2nd - 6th Nov.

Competing Teams

The 20 teams participating in the MPLI this year are:


  • Burn x Flash


  • Alter Ego Esports

  • AURA Fire

  • Bigetron Alpha

  • EVOS Legends

  • Geek Fam

  • ONIC Esports

  • Rebellion Zion

  • RRQ Hoshi


  • Team HAQ

  • Todak

  • Orange Esports


  • Blacklist International

  • Bren Esports

  • ECHO


  • RSG PH

  • Omega Esports


  • RSG SG

  • Slate Esports

Tournament Format

The first-round bracket will be determined through a unique Captain's Draft system in this year's MPLI. The four MPL Champions from Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, and Singapore will be drawn into four groups and will choose their opponents by drafting teams into their brackets. A lottery-style draw will be used to decide the draft order. Once the order is set, the Captain's Draft will proceed in a snake format (i.e. 1, 2, 3, 4, 3, 2, 1) until all teams are chosen.

The Captain's Draft will take place on 28th October at 7:00 PM (GMT+8) and will be livestreamed in English on the official handles of ONE Esports;

The draft will be hosted by Rachael "Aeterna" Melati, a prominent Indonesian streamer, and Frederick "Mirko" Loho, an MPL commentator who won Best Junior Caster during the MPL ID Season 7.

More details regarding the match schedules and team distributions will be revealed at the later date. Fans will have to keep their eyes peeled for more updates in the future.

Published On: 
author profile picture
John has been reporting developments on major mobile MOBA titles such as Mobile Legends, Wild Rift, and Arena of Valor for over two years. He also understands and follows various other PC/Mobile games such as League of Legends, Crossfire, Warcraft and more.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read