Sunsparks Defends Title To Become MPL - PH Season 5 Champions

Sunsparks Defends Title To Become MPL - PH Season 5 Champions

Shounak Sengupta
Published On: 

Cover and thumbnail via @Mobile Legends Esports

  • Sunspark win MPL PH Season 5. 
  • The team have won both season 4 and season 5 making them the first two-time winners. 

Season 5 of the MLBB Professional League - Philippines came to an end with defending champions, Sunspark. Despite finishing fourth in the league stage, the team came alive in the playoffs, to mark an unbeaten run to the trophy.

League stage winners, Bren Esports started off their playoffs campaign with a win against Execration. Sunsparks meanwhile, found two crucial wins over second placed Onic PH and first placed Bren in consecutive rounds to book a grand finals spot for themselves. The lower bracket matches were messy but both Bren and Onic managed to survive till the final round.

A 2-1 showing in the lower bracket finals allowed Onic to eliminate Bren and move into the finals for a chance at redemption against Sunsparks. In the bo5 finals, Onic continued with their winning momentum, taking the first game of the series with a clinical performance from eventual MVP OhMyV33nus. However, that would be all that Sunsparks would allow as they won the next three games of the series to secure the championship and take home both the trophy and the tag of champions. 

author profile picture

Shounak has been one of AFK Gaming’s longest-serving esports journalists. From Dota, to Counter Strike and now Mobile Titles, you can rely on him to bring you the latest scoop and news from the world of esports.

Follow us on social media