What Are All the Vocations in Dragon’s Dogma 2? Classes Explained


What Are All the Vocations in Dragon’s Dogma 2? Classes Explained

Surya Kumar
Updated On: 
Dragon’s Dogma 2 showcases 10 different classes that are classified into Basic, Advanced, and Hybrid Vocations.
Each Vocation is equipped with its own set of weapons and abilities, allowing players to perform unique and enticing combat moves.
While Basic and Advanced Vocations can be assigned to both Arisen and Pawn, Advanced Vocations are accessible only to the Arisen.

Anticipation is at an all-time high for Dragon’s Dogma 2, as fans of the first game have been eagerly awaiting this sequel for over a decade. Pre-orders have gone live and gamers are yearning to learn any tidbits about the new and improved game.

Besides its improved graphical fidelity, Dragon’s Dogma 2 retains its core ARPG elements, providing a diverse list of classes or Vocations for both their Arisen and Pawn. Each Vocation boasts its own skill sets, offering different abilities and weapons to be used in combat. Without further ado, here’s everything you need to know. 

Here Are All the Vocations Offered in Dragon’s Dogma 2

Dragon’s Dogma offers a total of 10 different vocations for players to choose from. Similar to the first game, these are separated into categories where you can only access half of these classes at the beginning and unlock the entire catalog as you progress through the world and level up.

While Dragon’s Dogma offered a total of 9 different vocations, the sequel features 10 distinct classes that will teach various skills for both your Arisen and Pawn. These are:

  • Fighter: Excels in Melee combat by wielding a Sword and Shield, slicing through enemies while also protecting themselves and their allies.

  • Archer: Specializes in Long-range Attacks, thanks to their Bow and Arrow. Essential to eliminate enemies on higher ground.

  • Thief: Agility is key for the Thief class as they dual-wield daggers and perform swift and consecutive attacks while also having excellent mobility. As the name suggests, they also excel at pickpocketing both enemies and NPCs.

  • Mage: A potent, staff-wielding support class capable of dishing out Magick attacks while also providing enchantments and heals to buff their party members. Also possesses other Magick abilities. 

  • Warrior: They are masters of two-handed weapons like Hammers and Greatswords, dealing devastating damage to enemies. Thanks to their physique, they also have the strength to endure deadly attacks from enemies.

  • Sorcerer: A specialist of all kinds of Magick attacks, thanks to wielding a two-handed Longstaff. Considering their long spell-cast times, they must carefully strategize and execute their attacks.

  • Magick Archer: Apart from excelling at long-range combat, they also possess Magick Arrows to perform devastating Area of Effect attacks. They also come in handy to heal your injured allies.

Mystic Spearhand
  • Mystic Spearhand: An all-rounder class combining both Melee and Magick abilities that prove to be effective at most ranges. They are outstanding while wielding the Mystic Spearhand Duospear.

  • Trickster: As the name suggests, Tricksters can use illusions to deceive their enemies. They possess the elusive Censer, a weapon that emits smoke used to conjure illusions.

  • Warfarer: A brand-new vocation that is capable of learning different fighting skills and abilities possessed by other classes. They are also diverse enough to wield several weapons, allowing them to perform dynamic combat moves.

The first four classes such as Fighter, Archer, Thief, and Mage are considered Basic Vocations and can be selected right from the Character Creation menu. Warrior and Sorcerer are classified as Advanced Vocations and they can only be unlocked by completing specific quests, possibly from the Vocation Maisters, rather than simply leveling up your build. All six of these vocations can be assigned to both Arisen and Pawns.

The remaining four classes on the other hand are considered Hybrid Vocations and they can be equipped only by your Arisen, as your Pawns will be restricted to the aforementioned options. This is because Magick Archer, Mystic Spearhand, Trickster, and Warfarer add a layer of complexity to combat. While these were unlocked once you reached level 10 in the first game, Dragon’s Dogma 2 will most likely unlock them through a new system.

Similar to unlocking Advanced Vocations, Hybrid classes could also be accessible after strengthening your bond with Vocation Maisters such as Sigurd and Trickster Luz.

Published On: 
author profile picture
Surya has been an avid gamer all his life with an emphasis on single-player titles since the PlayStation 2 era. After switching to PC, he has also dabbled in the world of Valorant ever since its beta. He aims to spread his passion for gaming through his writing.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read