Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth: Does the Game Still Have Romance Options?


Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth: Does the Game Still Have Romance Options?

Surya Kumar
Updated On: 
Final Fantasy 7 features a dedicated relationship system, allowing you to form connections with various party members.
When you are out of combat, you can access the current relationship level of your party members by pressing L1.
This guide contains mild spoilers for Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth. Reader's discretion advised.

Final Fantasy (FF) 7 Rebirth seeks to establish itself as a worthy sequel to 2020’s FF7 Remake by emphasizing action and role-playing as its core elements. In addition, the game also features a dedicated relationship system between Cloud and his party members. What captivates most players is the fact that your dialogue choices and actions with other characters can influence the plot and take the story in a new direction. If you happen to pick the right options, you might be lucky enough to go on a romantic escapade on the Gold Saucer and play various mini-games with your date.

Can You Romance the Side Characters in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth?

Romance options have always been one of the key features in numerous roleplaying games and Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth is no exception. While you can definitely hang out with any party member or side character, taking things a step forward and going on a romantic date does come with certain limitations.

Although the game certainly contains romance options with dedicated dialogue choices, not all relationships can turn into romantic endeavors. Cloud Strife can certainly get intimate with characters like Aerith Gainsborough, Tifa Lockhart, and Yuffie Kisaragi, whereas Cid, Vincent, and Cait Sith along with Barret Wallace will always maintain a platonic bond with you throughout the game.

As Cloud Strife, you will always maintain a relationship of varying levels between all the characters you interact with. This system is called Bonds of Friendship, represented by a face emoji symbol once the character becomes a party member.

Although this emoji will show a gray neutral expression at the beginning of any new connection, this face will change color for each corresponding level, along with a bar to measure its strength. There are a total of five relationship levels in FF7 Rebirth. These are:

  • Level 1: Purple

  • Level 2: Light Green

  • Level 3: Green

  • Level 4: Blue

  • Level 5: Light Blue

face emoji

How to Increase Your Relationship Levels in Final Fantasy 7 Rebirth?

The game offers four different options to increase your relationship status with characters in the game. Alongside selecting the right dialogue choices, you need to engage in actions such as Odd Jobs, Story Beats, and Synergize your skills and abilities with the party members to enhance your relationship. If you are successful, a pop-up will appear on your screen, indicating that your relationship has either deepened or changed. 

relationship status

Thankfully, choosing negative dialogue options or hostile actions against them will not decrease your relationship status. However, it might increase the duration needed to enhance your connection with that character. If you are aiming to go on a Golden Saucer amusement park date with a specific NPC, you need to get your relationship status to Blue (level 4) before you reach Chapter 8. If you manage to do this, you will go on a Gold Saucer Skywheel date with the same person in Chapter 12.

However, if you fail to get any of your relationship statuses to the required level, you still get to go on a date, but with a randomized character.

Published On: 
author profile picture
Surya has been an avid gamer all his life with an emphasis on single-player titles since the PlayStation 2 era. After switching to PC, he has also dabbled in the world of Valorant ever since its beta. He aims to spread his passion for gaming through his writing.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read