Minecraft 1.20


Complete List of Enchantments for Minecraft (Patch 1.20)

Abhimannu Das
Updated On: 
Here is the ultimate list of enchantments that you can use to upgrade your gear in Minecraft 1.20.
There are five types of enchantments in Minecraft that can boost your gear.

Enchanting your tools is one of the best ways to unlock new abilities and give your gear a spike in power. There are five types of enchantments in Minecraft which include - all-purpose, tools, melee weapons, ranged weapons, and armor. Here is a complete list of enchantments in Minecraft in the current version of the game. The list is currently updated for patch 1.20 and it will be further updated to include future enchantments if any are added.

All Purpose Enchantments in Minecraft patch 1.20

These enchantments can be applied to any armor/tool/weapon. 

  1. Mending - Repairs the item when gaining XP orbs. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

  2. Unbreaking - Increases item durability. (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  3. Curse of Vanishing - Item destroyed upon death. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

Tool Enchantments in Minecraft

  1. Efficiency - Increases mining speed. (Maximum enchantment level - 5) 

  2. Fortune - Increases certain item drop chances from blocks. (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  3. Luck of the Sea - Increases rate of fishing rare loot (enchanting books, etc.) (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  4. Lure - Decreases wait time until fish/junk/loot “bites” (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

Melee Weapon Enchantments in Minecraft

  1. Bane of Arthropods - Increases damage and applies Slowness IV to arthropod mobs (spiders, cave spiders, silverfish, endermites and bees). (Maximum enchantment level - 5) 

  2. Efficiency - When applied to an axe it increases the chance that the axe may stun a shield, with the base chance being 25% and a 5% increase for each level of efficiency. (Maximum enchantment level - 5) 

  3. Fire Aspect - Sets target on fire. (Maximum enchantment level - 2) 

  4. Looting - Increases amount of loot earned from mobs. (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  5. Impaling - Trident deals additional damage to mobs that spawn naturally in the ocean. (Maximum enchantment level - 5) 

  6. Knockback - Knocks back mobs away from you when hit. (Maximum enchantment level- 2) 

  7. Sharpness - Increases weapon damage. (Maximum enchantment level - 5) 

  8. Smite - Increases damage to undead mobs. (Maximum enchantment level - 5) 

  9. Sweeping Edge - Increases sweeping attack damage. Available only in Java Edition (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

Ranged Weapon Enchantments in Minecraft

  1. Channeling - Trident channels a bolt of lightning toward a hit entity. Functions only during thunderstorms and if the target is unobstructed by opaque blocks. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

  2. Flame - Arrows set targets on fire. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

  3. Impaling - Trident deals additional damage to mobs that spawn naturally in the ocean. (Maximum enchantment level - 5) 

  4. Infinity - Shooting with projectiles does not consume arrows. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

  5. Loyalty - Trident returns after being thrown. Higher levels reduce the return time. (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  6. Riptide - Trident launches the player with itself when thrown. Functions only in water or rain. (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  7. Multishot - Shoot 3 arrows at the cost of one; only one arrow can be recovered. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

  8. Piercing - Arrows pass through multiple entities (Maximum enchantment level - 4) 

  9. Power - Increases arrow damage. (Maximum enchantment level - 5) 

  10. Punch - Increases arrow knockback. (Maximum enchantment level - 2) 

  11. Quick Charge - Decreases crossbow charging time. (Maximum enchantment level - 3)

  12. Silk Touch - Mined blocks will drop as blocks instead of breaking into other items/blocks. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

Armor Enchantments in Minecraft

  1. Aqua Affinity - Increase the rate of underwater mining speed. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

  2. Blast Protection - Reduces explosion damage and knockback. (Maximum enchantment level - 4) 

  3. Curse of Binding - Items cannot be removed from armor slots unless the cause is death or breaking. (Maximum enchantment level - 1) 

  4. Depth Strider - Increases underwater movement speed. (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  5. Feather Falling - Reduces fall damage. (Maximum enchantment level - 4) 

  6. Fire Protection - Reduces fire damage and burn time. (Maximum enchantment level - 4) 

  7. Frost Walker - Changes the water source blocks beneath the player into frosted ice and prevents the damage the player would take from standing on magma blocks. (Maximum enchantment level - 2) 

  8. Projectile Protection - Reduces projectile damage. (Maximum enchantment level - 4) 

  9. Protection - Reduces most types of damage by 4% for each level. (Maximum enchantment level - 4) 

  10. Respiration - Extends underwater breathing time. (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  11. Soul Speed - Increases walking speed on soul sand and soul soil. ((Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

  12. Thorns - Reflects some of the damage taken when hit, at the cost of reducing durability. (Maximum enchantment level - 3) 

Published On: 
author profile picture
Abhimannu is a PC esports writer at AFK Gaming. With over seven years of experience in esports journalism, he has worked on a myriad of games and their ecosystems including Valorant, Overwatch and Apex Legends.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read