HCS Raleigh Major Winners


Cloud9 Beats eUnited to Win HCS Raleigh Major Kickoff

Abhimannu Das
Updated On: 
Cloud9 defeated eUnited 4-1 to take home 25,000 Halo Championship Series Points and $140,000 USD at the Raleigh Major.
It was the first official Halo major in two years and Cloud9 cemented its place as a contender to watch out for in 2022's Pro Series.
The next international major will be held at Kansas City from 1st May 2022.

The Halo Championship Series (HCS) Raleigh Major Kickoff is the first official Halo event in two years and it ended with Cloud9 (C9) being crowned the champions. The North American team won 4-1 at the grand finals against eUnited and will be defending its title next year at Kansas City in May 2022. Cloud9 is taking home 25,000 HCS points as well as $140,000 USD out of the $350,000 USD prize pool.

International teams will need to watch out for Cloud9 at the Halo Pro Series 2022

OpTic Gaming was by far Cloud9’s biggest threat heading into Championship Sunday. The team had not lost a single map coming into the match and despite Cloud9 looking unnerved against the opposition, it earned a 3-2 victory.

Cloud9’s Jonathan “Renegade” Willette, Kevin “Eco” Smith, Braedon “StelluR” Boettcher and Zane “Penguin” Hearon headed into the first matchup against eUnited with confidence, after taking out OpTic, and secured a comfortable 3-1 victory.

Cloud9's opponent, eUnited, had a second chance after being knocked into the lower bracket. The team secured a 3-2 victory against FaZe Clan to earn a rematch against C9. At the grand finals, Cloud9 and eUnited went up against each other one final time and it was C9 that triumphed once again. The night ended with Penguin earning his first-ever event-win in Halo. If he manages to keep up his performance from the HCS major, Cloud9 will take home more trophies in the future.

Halo Infinite is still in its early days and it remains to be seen how 343 Industries shapes the esports scene in 2022. The much-anticipated Pro Series is set to kick off in January 2022 where teams from all over the world will participate in a bid to become the 2022 world champions and take home a slice of the prize pool worth over $3,000,000.

Published On: 

Abhimannu is a part of the content team at AFK Gaming and a lifelong obsessive gamer. He currently covers esports titles like VALORANT, CS: GO, Call of Duty, Fortnite, PUBG and more.