Team Hyderabad Wins Skyesports Valorant League 2020

Abhimannu Das
Published On: 
  • The Skyesports Valorant League 2020 has come to a close with Team Hyderabad securing the win.
  • Team Hyderabad was represented by Velocity Gaming/Team Mahi, who are ranked the number three team in Asia-Pacific.
  • Deathmaker took home the MVP award for his incredible performance throughout the tournament.

The Skyesports Valorant League 2020 has come to an end with Team Hyderabad taking hom the championship. The team faced off against Team Rajasthan at the finals and beat them 3-0. Team Hyderabad was represented by Velocity Gaming, who recently rebranded themselves as Team Mahi. Velocity Gaming is one of the best teams in the APAC region and they are currently sitting at the number three spot in the Asia-Pacific rankings on 

Skyesports Valorant League 2020 Overview

The tournament began earlier this month on December 4 and the event boasted of a prize pool of INR 1,000,000 ($13,600). Team Hyderabad will be taking home INR 400,000 while Team Rajasthan will be taking home INR 250,000. Team Bengaluru won their third-place match earlier today against Team Kolkata came in third and will be taking home INR 100,000 while Kolkata will be taking home INR 50,000. DEATHMAKER of Team Rajasthan took home the MVP award for his consistent performance throughout the tournament. 

Team Hyderabad had a clean run throughout the tournament with the team winning 7-0 in the group stages. They did not drop a single map during the semi-finals and finals either with 3-0 victories going in Hyderabad’s favour both times. Today, they faced Rajasthan on Haven, Ascent and Bind with Haven being the only map where Rajasthan came close to securing a win. Hyderabad won three matches back-to-back with a resounding 13-2 victory on Bind that won them the Skyesports Valorant League 2020 championship. Deathmaker and mw1 were the two best players in the tournament with both players securing over 300 kills each. 

At the end of the event Sky Esports and AMD Ryzen presented the championship to Team Hyderabad and stated “After 25 days of non-stop esports action, Team Hyderabad continues its dominance in Valorant and are reaching new heights! Here's wishing them a big congratulations and another successful year ahead!”

The month-long tournament kicked off on December 4 with all groups being allotted four teams each. Teams went head-to-head against each other in BO3 rounds to secure points. The top two teams secured their spots at the playoffs. Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Kolkata and Rajasthan were the top four teams who competed in a single-elimination bracket in a BO5 format during the playoffs. The tournament was broadcasted in six languages including Hindi, English, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam and Bengali. Nikhil “Sieh” Bhansali was present as a guest broadcaster during the playoffs. 

RELATED:  Valorant Community Launches “Magic Box” to Find Content

Abhimannu is a part of the content team at AFK Gaming and a lifelong obsessive gamer. He currently covers esports titles like VALORANT, CS: GO, Call of Duty, Fortnite, PUBG and more. He also writes opinion pieces, cover stories and conducts interviews with esports professionals.

Others Also Read