Winners Announced for The Esports Awards 2020


Winners Announced for The Esports Awards 2020

Abhimannu Das
Published On: 
  • The Esports Awards 2020 concluded and all winners were announced with Riot Games taking home multiple accolades.
  • Esports PC Player of The Year was awarded to Michal “Nisha” Jankowski of Dota 2.
  • Esports Team of The Year was awarded to Team Secret for Dota 2.

The Esports Awards 2020 concluded recently and awarded the best players, managers and other professionals working in the esports scene. A number of notable players were crowned at the event and Riot Games dominated the event with multiple awards under the belt. Esports legend Lim “Boxer” Yo-Hwan took home the Lifetime Achievement award for his feats in Starcraft. The event was held across two days and here is the full list of community and pro awards.

The Esports 2020 Awards – Community

Streamer of The Year – Ibai “Ibai” Llanos

Ibai is a Spanish streamer and commentator at the Professional Video Game League in Spain. He is part of G2’s streaming and content creation squad. The popular streamer has over 3.7 million followers on Twitch and 4 million subscribers on YouTube.

Esports Player of The Year - İsmailcan “XANTARES” Dörtkardeş

XANTARES is a professional Turkish-Macedonian CS: GO Player who made a name in esports with BIG. He is known for his rifler/entry-fragger skills and has multiple wins under his belt at Dreamhack tournaments in Europe.

Esports Personality of the Year - Carlos “ocelote” Rodríguez Santiagos

Carlos "ocelote" Rodríguez Santiago an ex-player of SK gaming and is the founder of Gamers2, which we all now know as G2 Esports. Prior to his career in League of Legends, he among the best World of Warcraft PVP players and reached the Blizzcon 2009 finals.

Esports Collegiate Award – Tyrelle Appleton

Appleton is the Esports Program Director at New England College and created the NEC Esports Program at the institution which is backed by the likes of NEU Brands, eFuse, HyperX, and XSplit.

RELATED:  s1mple Criticises Esports Awards, Shows Support For ZywOo

The Esports Awards 2020 – Class of 2020

Winners Announced for The Esports Awards 2020
Lim Yo-Whan was inducted to the Esports Hall of Fame 2020. Image by World Poker Tour

The players inducted to the hall of fame this year include: 

  • Johnathan “Fatality” Wendel
  • Daigo Umehara
  • Richard Lewis
  • Craig “Torbull” Levine
  • Michael Sepso
  • Lim “Boxer” Yo-Hwan

The Esports Awards 2020 - Pro

Esports Team of The Year – Team Secret

Team Secret is a professional Dota 2 team created by Kuroki and N0Tail. The organization has over $11 million in winnings, making them one of the most successful teams in Dota 2.

Esports Console Player of the Year – Anthony “Shotzzy” Cuevas-Castro

Anthony “Shotzzy” Cuevas-Castro is a professional Call of Duty esports player. He is currently signed with Dallas Empire and won the 2020 Call of Duty World champions. He also received the 2020 season MVP award for his performance in Call of Duty and has a 2018 Halo World Champion title to his name.

Esports PC Player of The Year – Michal “Nisha” Jankowski

Winners Announced for The Esports Awards 2020
Michal “Nisha” Jankowski was awarded Esports PC Player of the year. Image by Sport TVP PL

Michal “Nisha” Jankowski is a professional Dota 2 player from Poland and is currently signed with Team Secret. He won two Tier 1 tournaments this year including the OMEGA League: Europa Immortal Division and Dreamleague Season 13.

Esports Mobile Player of the Year – Made Bagas “Zuxxy” Pramudita

The mobile esports player of the year was presented for the first time this year with Zuxxy taking home the prize. Made Bagas “Zuxxy” Pramudita is the first underage player in the PUBG Mobile esports scene and has already bagged the best player award at PMCO last year during the Fall finals.

Esports Organization of The Year – G2 Esports

G2 Esports is one of the biggest organizations in competitive gaming and has successful teams representing the brand in games like League of Legends, Rainbow Six Siege, CS: GO, VALORANT, Fortnite, Rocket League and more.

Esports Coach of The Year - Lee “Heen” Seung Gon (Team Secret)

Lee “Heen” Seung Gon is a professional Dota 2 player who is currently coaching Team Secret. He led Team Secret to victory at DreamLeague Season 13.

RELATED:  Team Secret, ODPixel Nominated For Esports Awards 2020

author profile picture

Abhimannu is a part of the content team at AFK Gaming and a lifelong obsessive gamer. He currently covers esports titles like VALORANT, CS: GO, Call of Duty, Fortnite, PUBG and more.

Follow us on social media