Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play


Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Play: Tiers, Rewards, Maps and More

Abhimannu Das
Updated On: 
Ranked Play will be available in Modern Warfare 2 with official Call of Duty League rules.
The mode was co-developed by Treyarch and Infinity Ward under Activision.
Features like Rating Forgiveness and Demotion Protection will be available to enhance player experience.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 is getting Ranked Play as part of the Season 2 update and it is being co-created by Treyarch and Infinity Ward based on Call of Duty League (CDL) rules. The ranked system is changing how skill divisions and ranks work in Call of Duty and introduces various features like Skill Rating Forgiveness and Demotion Protection. Here is a breakdown of the Ranked Play mode in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Maps

Here are all of the maps that will be available as part of the Ranked Play mode in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2.


  • Al Bagra Fortress

  • Breenbergh Hotel

  • Embassy

  • Mercado Las Almas

  • Zarqwa Hydroelectric

Search & Destroy

  • Al Bagra Fortress

  • Breenbergh Hotel

  • El Asilo

  • Embassy

  • Mercado Las Almas


  • Al Bagra Fortress

  • Breenbergh Hotel

  • El Asilo

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Skill Divisions 

  • Bronze – 0-899 SR

  • Silver – 900-2,099 SR

  • Gold – 2,100-3,599 SR

  • Platinum – 3,600-5,399 SR

  • Diamond – 5,400-7,499 SR

  • Crimson – 7,500-9,999 SR

  • Iridescent – 10,000 SR minimum

  • Top 250 – 10,000+ SR

Your Skill Rating (SR) is based mainly on the result of every match you play – simply put, win the match to gain SR, lose the match and lose SR. Individual performance and your team’s overall performance will impact the amount of SR you gain or lose each match. In higher Skill Divisions, more emphasis will be put on team performance to ensure all winning playstyles are appropriately rewarded. 

Every Skill Division below Iridescent has three Tiers to progress through. These Tiers provide additional granularity to each Division and help players feel a sense of progression as they climb. Think of these as additional SR subcategories within each Skill Division, separating the range of SR in each Division into thirds.

Returning from the Vanguard Ranked Play system is the Top 250 Skill Division, which is above Iridescent. The 250 best players with the highest SR above 10,000 will be put on the Top 250 Leaderboards for all to see. 

In Modern Warfare II Ranked Play everyone will start out as a Bronze Ranked player. As for squadding up, you are allowed to bring up to three squadmates into matches if they fall within a certain Skill Division threshold, with the highest Skill Division in the party determining the restriction rules:

  1. Bronze through Platinum players can party up with no restrictions.

  2. Diamond and Crimson players can only form parties with and play against other players within two Skill Divisions.

  3. Iridescent and Top 250 Players can only form parties with and play against other players within one Skill Division.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 New Ranked Features

  1. Ranked play matches will not start if teams are uneven. If a player disconnects or quits before a match begins, all remaining players will return to the lobby and the match will not count.

  2. SR Forgiveness: if a player disconnects or quits in the middle of the match, all team members outside of that player’s party will not lose ANY SR. 

  3. Penalties and suspensions can be given to those who quit, disconnect, sit idle, or commit friendly fire too often. Players who show repeated bad behavior will be handed more severe punishments.

  4. Demotion Protection: this new feature will help all players avoid immediate relegation after advancing to a new Skill Division. After advancing to a higher Skill Division, players will not lose any SR within the first three games in the new Division.

  5. Two additional features of note are Hot Streak Flames, which rewards players who can rack up 3+ game win streaks over a 72-hour period, and the addition of Ranked Play Icons in Social Profiles, allowing you to show off that Skill Division and Rank across Modern Warfare II and Warzone 2.0, no matter what mode you play.

Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Ranked Rewards 

In terms of Rank Rewards, there are a few key items outside of a new Calling Card every five ranks and some additional, competitive-focused cosmetics:

  • Rank 5: “Ranked Competitor” Operator Skin Pack, one “Home” version and one “Away” version awarded for both the Male and Female CDL Operators

  • Rank 15: Pro Issue Sidearm Blueprint, which has similar attachments to what is used at the highest level of competitive play.

  • Rank 30: New Gun Screen that tracks Ranked Play wins.

  • Rank 40: Pro Issue Combat Knife Blueprint, which is another popular competitive Secondary weapon.

  • Rank 50: “Ranked Veteran” Operator Skins (Home and Away) awarded to Male and Female CDL Operators, proof of your commitment to Ranked Play no matter your Skill Division

As for Skill Division Rewards, it’s not about where you finish the season, but rather the highest Skill Division reached during it. 

Reaching Bronze and Silver Ranks awards a new Emblem, while reaching any other Skill Division – including the Top 250 – grants two new special Operator Skins, an Animated Emblem, and a Weapon Charm. You can earn the other Skill Division rewards by finishing at a higher (or lower) Division in the following seasons.

Iridescent and Top 250 members also get an Animated Calling Card, while the #1 Ranked Play player will receive a special, one-of-a-kind exclusive Animated Calling Card and Emblem, which can be considered the ultimate bragging rights from Ranked Play.

Published On: 
author profile picture
Abhimannu is a PC esports writer at AFK Gaming. With over seven years of experience in esports journalism, he has worked on a myriad of games and their ecosystems including Valorant, Overwatch and Apex Legends.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read