Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 - All Game Modes


Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 - All Game Modes Explained

Moin Khot
Updated On: 
Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer features two mode categories at launch: Core Map modes and Battle Map modes.
Core Map modes offer tight 6v6 combat between two teams, whereas Battle Map Modes feature large-scale ground war with up to 32v32 combat.
The Core Map modes feature nine maps, whereas the Battle Map modes feature six maps.

Infinity Ward’s Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, the sequel to the 2019 reboot of the Modern Warfare franchise, was released on 28th October. The game brings multiple changes from its predecessor, including improved graphics and combat mechanics, new game modes, maps, and more. At the time of launch, Modern Warfare 2 featured 15 multiplayer game modes across all the maps. This guide will discuss all Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 game modes and their objectives.

All game modes in Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2

Modern Warfare 2 Multiplayer features two mode categories at launch and it depends on the type of map they are played on: Core Map modes and Battle Map modes. Core Map modes offer a tight 6v6 combat between two teams, whereas Battle Map Modes feature large-scale ground war with up to 32v32 combat. Each mode features a different objective that a team has to complete to win a match. Following are all the game modes available at the time of launch:

Core Map modes

Free-for-All: The sole objective of the Free-for-All mode is to eliminate enemy players. The first player to reach 30 eliminations ends the match, with the top three players with the highest eliminations claiming victory.

Team Deathmatch: Team Deathmatch mode brings the original Call of Duty experience in its purest form. Players have to use teamwork to eliminate enemy players and the first team to reach a score of 75 eliminations wins the match.

Domination: In Domination mode, players have to fight to take control of three zones marked by flags — A, B, and C. Players gain points over time from captured zones. The first team to gain 200 points wins the match.

Hardpoint: Players have to capture the Hardpoint – a specific location on the map – and hold it against the enemy’s attack. The Hardpoint location changes every minute, with the position of the next Hardpoint being indicated in the last 10 seconds of the previous zone. The first team to earn 250 points will win the match.

Headquarters: Players have to fight to capture the Headquarters and then defend it. However, respawns are disabled for the players that defend the Headquarters. Once the Headquarter is taken offline, a new zone is designated as the Headquarter for the next. The first team to acquire 200 points wins the match.

Control: In Control mode, two teams will compete against each other while alternately attacking and defending two goals. Each team shares a pool of 30 lives; if the attacking team successfully captures one goal, they have additional time to complete the second. The defending team can win the round by letting the time run out before the objectives are taken. The first team to win three rounds wins the match.

Prisoner Rescue: The Attacking team’s objective in Prisoner Rescue mode is to either kill all the defenders or rescue two hostages and take them to safety. The Defenders’ objective is to stay alive and keep the prisoners locked.

Knock Out: As the name suggests, the mode gives teams just one life to prove themselves. Both teams fight over a bag of cash in the middle of the map. The mode allows no respawns, meaning all the players have only one life, but players can revive other knocked players. The team that holds the bag at the end of the round wins the round. The first team to take five rounds wins the match.

Search & Destroy: Players take turns defending and attacking an objective in this mode. This mode does not allow players to respawn. Attackers win a round by eliminating all defenders or by successfully planting and making the bomb go off. Defenders win a round by preventing the attackers from planting the bomb or by defusing it after it is planted. The first team to take six rounds wins the match.

Battle Map modes

Ground War: This game mode is similar to the Domination mode but has 32 players in each team instead of six. Both teams have to capture an odd number of objectives to gain points. The first team to earn 250 points wins the match.

Ground War – Invasion: Invasion is similar to Team Deathmatch and is played between two teams consisting of 32 players each on Ground War maps along with AI players. The first team to reach 2000 points wins the match.

Featured: Featured game modes change regularly, with Playlists often focused on new maps and modes. Variations of standard maps and modes may also apply here.

Quick Play: Quick Play allows players to get into a match fast with their personalized Playlist. Players can use the Quick Play filter to select their favorite game modes. Quick Play will search for all available matches in those modes to get a match faster.

Tier 1: A Tier 1 Playlist offers a more challenging experience than traditional Multiplayer. In this mode, Operators have less health and limited HUD elements, and friendly fire is also on. These elements are consistent in all game modes that support the Tier 1 variant.

Third-Person Mode: As the name suggests, this game mode features a third-Person perspective. It gives players more perspective on the overall surroundings, but the depth of field is reduced.

Published On: 
author profile picture
Moin is the newest addition to AFK Gaming. Being an avid gamer, he loves to cover what’s happening in the Indian gaming community.

Follow us on social media


Others Also Read