Team Orca Has Been Disqualified

[Updated] Team Orca Has Been Disqualified From DPC SEA 2021/22 Division 2

Vignesh Raghuram
Updated On: 
Team Orca has been disqualified from the upcoming DPC SEA 2021/2022 Tour 2: Division II
The team features the likes of vtFαded and AhJit in its lineup.

Update: According to Beyond the Summit, Team Orca was disqualified from the tournament since it was using Team Apex's accounts to compete on their behalf. Additionally, a separate investigation also found that Team Orca was match fixing in various third party tournaments like the BTS Pro Series.

As a result, 10 players from Team Orca and Team Apex have been banned permanently from Valve events. The ten players are:

1. Cheng "vtFaded" Jia Hao

2. Wang "闷油瓶" Liang (王亮)

3. Zhou "Yif" Yifu (周一夫)

4. Lai "AhJit" Jay Son

5. Wang "Gy" Kok Guan

6. Bùi "Hunghung" Văn Hùng

7. Pang "BrayaNt" Jian Zhe

8. Namir "QWE" Mohammad

9. Nguyễn "Datbb" Thành Đạt

10. JJ - 杨俊杰

Team Orca from Division 2 of the DPC SEA 2021/22 has been disqualified from the league, the official Twitter handle of the SEA DPC League revealed today. The reasoning behind the team's disqualification is yet to be revealed.

As a result of this development, the team will no longer be eligible to compete in this season's DPC Lower Division which was scheduled to run from 14th March - 21st April, and will now be replaced by a team from the Open Qualifiers.

In January 2021, the SEA DPC League (then operated by PGL) disqualified Team Assault from the Lower Division due to account sharing. The team was replaced by Army Geniuses who had the next best record in the closed qualifiers.

Team Orca to be replaced by Open Qualifier team

Team Orca has had its fair share of success in recent SEA tournaments and had proven themselves as one of the most in-form teams in the region by winning three tournaments in a row: BTS Pro Series Season 10: Southeast Asia, Oceanic Esports Dota Championships, and QH Sports Dota Series 3.

The lineup featured:

  • Cheng "vtFαded" Jia Hao

  • Lai "AhJit" Jay Son

  • Wong "Gy" Kok Guan

  • Zhou "Yif" Yifu

  • Wang "闷油瓶"' Liang

After the disqualification the team will be replaced by an additional team from the SEA open qualifier semifinals. Currently five teams are in contention for two slots in the Lower Division for Tour 2 of the SEA DPC 2021/22 season:

  • UD Vessuwan

  • The Apes E-Sport

  • M Y

  • Kobolds

  • Team M11

At the time of writing, UD Vessuwan and The Apes E-Sport are competing in the finals of the open qualifiers. The winner will directly qualify for Division 2 whilst the loser will have to battle three other teams on March 23 to determine Team Orca's replacement.

The DPC SEA 2021/2022 Tour 2: Division 2 is scheduled to kick off on 14th March.

Published On: 
author profile picture

Vignesh has been covering the esports industry for nearly 5 years starting with the early days of the DPC. His industry expertise includes experience in Dota 2, CS:GO and Mobile Esports coverage.