IEM Katowice 2024: Teams, Results, Schedule, Format, Livestream, More

Cover-Credits: 

IEM Katowice 2024: Teams, Results, Schedule, Format, Livestream, More

Aditya Singh Rawat
Updated On: 
Highlights
The IEM Katowice 2024 is all set to take place from 31st January to 11th February in Katowice, Poland.
IEM Katowice 2024 will feature a total prize pool of $1,000,000 USD which will be split between all the 24 teams competing in it.
Playoffs of IEM Katowice 2024 will take place at the prestigious Spodek Arena in front of a live audience.

The Intel Extreme Masters Katowice 2024 (IEM Katowice 2024) is scheduled to take place from 31st January to 11th February in Katowice, Poland, featuring a total prize pool of $1,000,000 USD, which will be split between all competitors.

IEM Katowice 2024 will witness participation from 24 of the best Counter-Strike (CS2) teams from around the globe, eight of them directly starting from the Group Stage while the remaining would have to fight through the Play-In Stage.

However, only the top six teams will qualify for the Playoffs which will take place in front of a live audience at the iconic Spodek Arena.


IEM Katowice 2024: Complete Details

ESL is all set to start its CS2 competitive circuit for the year with IEM Katowice 2024, offering a million dollars in prize money, featuring some of the best teams in the scene that shall deliver plenty of high-octane action.

This is one of the most crucial events of the year because the winner, apart from bagging the lion's share of the prize money, will also qualify for three other top-tier CS2 tournaments namely, IEM Cologne 2024, BLAST Premier World Final, and Esports World Cup 2024.


IEM Katowice 2024: Teams

A total of 24 teams will compete in this tournament. Eight of them will directly start from the Group Stage while the remaining will start from the Play-In Stage.


IEM Katowice 2024: Schedule and Results

The tournament has been divided into three stages - Play-In, Group, and Playoffs. Out of the three, the first two will be played in an offline studio environment, followed by the final stage taking place at the prestigious Spodek Arena in front of an audience in Katowice, Poland.

  • IEM Katowice 2024 - Play-In Stage: 31st Jan to 2nd Feb

  • IEM Katowice 2024 - Group Stage: 3rd to 6th Feb

  • IEM Katowice 2024 - Playoffs Stage: 9th to 11th Feb

Play-In Stage

16 teams took on each other in the opening round of the tournament but only half of them made it through to the next round.

Group Stage

The eight directly qualified teams were joined by eight other teams from the first round of the tournament. These 16 teams were split into two groups of eight teams, only the top three from each made it to the main stage.

Group A

Group B

Playoffs

The final six teams took on each other in front of a live audience to crown the champion of IEM Katowice 2024.

9th Feb

  • FaZe vs G2 - 20:45 IST | 16:15 CET | 10:15 EST | 7:15 PST

  • ENCE vs Falcons - 00:00 IST | 19:30 CET | 13:30 EST | 10:30 PST

10th Feb

  • MOUZ vs FaZe - 20:45 IST | 16:15 CET | 10:15 EST | 7:15 PST

  • Spirit vs Falcons - 00:00 IST | 19:30 CET | 13:30 EST | 10:30 PST

11th Feb

  • Spirit vs FaZe - 21:30 IST | 17:00 CET | 11:00 EST | 8:00 PST


IEM Katowice 2024: Format

Play-In Stage

  • A total of 16 teams will compete in a double-elimination bracket.

  • All opening matches will be best-of-one and thereafter all matches will be best-of-three.

  • The top eight teams will move on to the Group Stage.

Group Stage

  • The eight qualifying teams will join the eight directly invited teams and they will be split into two equal groups.

  • Both groups will follow a double-elimination bracket where all matches will be best-of-three.

  • The top three teams from both groups will qualify to the Playoffs.

  • The winners of both groups will advance to the Semifinals whereas the remaining teams will move on to the Quarterfinals.

Playoffs

  • The top six teams will follow a single-elimination bracket.

  • The Quarterfinals and Semifinals will feature a best-of-three series.

  • The Grand Final will follow a best-of-five series.


IEM Katowice 2024: Prize Pool

The total prize pool of one million dollars will be split between all the 24 teams as per their final standings in the tournament.

In addition to this, the winning team will also reserve a slot for itself in IEM Katowice 2024, BLAST Premier World Final, and Esports World Cup 2024.


IEM Katowice 2024: Livestream

The tournament will be broadcasted live in more than 10 different languages primarily across two of the most popular streaming platforms, YouTube and Twitch.


All participating teams will be looking to give their absolute best and go as far as possible in the IEM Katowice 2024, which marks the start of ESL's competitive season for the year.

The stakes are high with the wining team being crowned as the champion in front of a live audience, walking away with a lion's share of the prize money, and also securing a slot in three upcoming CS2 tournaments.

It will be interesting to see if G2 Esports is able to hold on to the throne or will a new team successfully snatch it away.


Published On: 
author profile picture
Aditya is the in-house CS:GO writer at AFK Gaming. While his understanding of the esports space is not restricted by geographical borders, his current focus lies in the Asian region. Understands and follows almost all major esport titles.

Follow us on social media

facebook-logotwitter-logoinstagram-logodiscord-logolinkedin-logo
google-news-logo

Others Also Read