ZywOo, KennyS, NEO, TaZ and More to Compete in Red Bull Flick 2v2 CS:GO Tournament


ZywOo, KennyS, NEO, TaZ and More to Compete in Red Bull Flick 2v2 CS:GO Tournament

Aditya Singh Rawat
Published On: 
  • Red Bull to organize its first ever global CS:GO tournament on 9th August.
  • Red Bull Flick European Pro Invitational will be a 2v2 CS:GO tournament following a unique game format.
  • Top CS:GO players like ZywOo, kennyS, smooya, gob b, NEO, TaZ, and more will be participating in the event.

Red Bull has been organizing multiple national level CS:GO 2v2 tournaments all over the world in the past few months. After conducting several such competitions the organizers have now announced their first global CS:GO tournament called ‘Red Bull Flick European Pro Invitational’ featuring a €20,000 ($23579.20) prize pool and some of the best CS:GO players from across Europe.

Red Bull Flick European Pro Invitational

Scheduled to take place on 9th August, the 2v2 CS:GO tournament will feature a mix of some of the best European players that have been handed direct invites, along with a few amateurs who have made it here through various qualifiers.

The list of teams participating in the tournament are as follows,

  • Fatih "gob b" Dayik | Alexander "alexRr" Frisch
  • Kenny "kennyS" Schrub | Audric "JaCkz" Jug
  • Nemanja "nexa" Isakovi? | Nemanja "huNter-" Kova?
  • Owen "smooya" Butterfield | Thomas "Thomas"Utting
  • Mathieu "ZywOo" Herbaut | Kévin "misutaaa" Rabier
  • Georgi "SHiPZ" Grigorov | Rokas "EspiranTo" Milasauskas
  • Filip "NEO" Kubski | Wojciech “Prism” Zi?ba
  • Wiktor "TaZ" Wojtas | Kamil “reiko” Cegie?ko
  • Michaela "mimimimichaela" Lintrup | Emil "Remoy" Schlichter
  • Jere "sergej" Salo | Jani "Aerial" Jussila
  • Ricardo "fox" Pacheco | Paulo "pr" Silva
  • Filipe "NOPEEj" Dias | Francisco "obj" Ramos
  • Dmitriy "Dima" Bandurka | Vladislav "FinigaN" Usov
  • M1koo24 | HELLKISSS
  • S1n | skyye
  • Ex3rcice | Djoko

The last four teams in the list above have qualified for the tournament through Bardolph Open and the Closed Qualifier respectively.

Game Format

Being a Red Bull event there is bound to be a slight twist to the usual format of the game. The 2v2 matches will be following a ‘Hold The Fort’ format, this means that the competing teams will need to hold an area on the map for a total of 45 seconds to win the round.

If none of the competing teams is able to hold the marked area on the map for a total of 45 seconds before the 2-minute mark, then the team which has captured the are for the longer duration of time automatically wins.

A team needs to win a total of three rounds to win a particular map. The teams switch sides every two rounds.

Tournament Format

The event kicks off with the group stage where the 16 teams will be divided into 4 groups of 4 teams each. Each group will follow a round-robin format with every matchup being a best-of-three series. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the playoffs.

The playoffs will be following a single-elimination format with all matchups except for the grand finals being a three-game series. The grand finals will be the only match to witness a best-of-five faceoff.

Prize Pool

Only those teams that make it through the group stage and into the playoffs will be walking away with a part of the €20,000 ($23579.20) total prizepool.

Prize Pool
Third - Fourth
Fifth - Eighth

All the matches will be broadcasted live in the English language on Red Bull’s Twitch channel with James Bardolph and Sean Gares commentating on the games while Freya Spiers hosts the tournament.

With the likes of players such as Gob b, SHiPZ, EspiranTo, kennyS, JaCkz, nexa, huNter-, NEO, TaZ, smooya, misutaaa, ZywOo, and more, the 2v2 competition will surely be fun while at the same time being a tough nut to crack for the amateurs participating in the event.

Aditya is the in-house CS:GO writer at AFK Gaming. While his understanding of the esports space is not restricted by geographical borders, his current focus lies in the Asian region. Understands and follows almost all major esport titles.