coverimage
1

MIBR, Fnatic, FURIA and EG round-up the playoffs for StarSeries & i-League S8

Aditya Singh Rawat
24th Oct, 2019

Cover Image Courtesy: Andreas Samuelsson | Thumbnail Image Courtesy: MIBR

The third day of StarSeries & i-League Season 8 witnessed multiple eliminations with eight teams coming to an end of their journey, while four teams secured themselves a slot in the playoffs.

The lower bracket match-ups were intense and quite unpredictable, as many strong teams like AVANGAR, Na’Vi, and mousesports were on the exit way out of the event by the end of the day.



Group - A

MIBR fought its way through to survive in the lower bracket by defeating both Imperial e-Sports and North without dropping a single map. They were joined by Fnatic who took down mousesports ‘2-0’ after the latter had defeated Invictus Gaming earlier in the day.

The two surviving teams have qualified for the playoffs and will be facing each other for better seeding in the next stage, today.

Group - B

FURIA managed to defeat 5Power Gaming and AVANGAR to qualify for the playoffs. It was a tight set of matches against AVANGAR but FURIA managed to get the upper hand, securing a sure slot for the next round.

But the biggest upset of the day was Heroic destroying Na’Vi, sending the Ukranian org packing back home. The Danes were really playing very good as they went on to give EG a tough time before going down, as the NA squad qualified for the playoffs.

With this, MIBR, Fnatic, FURIA, and EG have secured themselves a place in the playoffs. Today the group stage will come to a close with the teams figuring out their seeding based on their day’s performance.



Best Moments Of The Day

Casper "cadiaN" Møller celebrating after clutching a round against EG.

Top tier analysis. It doesn’t get better than this.

Another instance where someone shouts “cadiaN why are you hiding.”

Oleksandr "s1mple" Kostyliev shooting Egor "flamie" Vasilev in the face and smiling about it.

Özgür "woxic" Eker with a sick 1v3 clutch.

Heroic not able to defuse in time.


Let’s see how the last day of the Group Stage goes. Which teams do you guys think will be taking the upper bracket slots?

Match
Time
Renegades vs Vitality
10:00 Istanbul Time | 12:30 IST
MIBR vs Fnatic
10:00 Istanbul Time | 12:30 IST
(Loser of RNG vs Vitality) vs (Winner of MIBR vs Fnatic)
19:00 Istanbul Time | 21:30 IST
NiP vs G2
15:30 Istanbul Time | 18:00 IST
FURIA vs EG
15:30 Istanbul Time | 18:00 IST
(Loser of NiP vs G2) vs (Winner of FURIA vs EG)
19:00 Istanbul Time | 21:30 IST



Loading...

Aditya Singh Rawattwitter_link

FOLLOW

Aditya Singh Rawat is the in-house CS:GO editor at AFK Gaming. While his understanding of the esports space is not restricted by geographical borders, his current focus lies in the Asian region. Understands and follows almost all major esport titles.