coverimage
2

Renegades and Vitality reach Group-A upper bracket finals of StarSeries & i-League S8

Aditya Singh Rawat
22/Oct/2019 06:33 am
Cover Image Courtesy: Team Vitality | Thumbnail Image Courtesy: Yura

The first day of StarSeries & i-League Season 8 taking place in Belek, Turkey offering a total prize pool of $500,000 came to an end with Renegades and Vitality reaching the Winner’s Final of Group - A.



The sixteen participating teams, twelve direct invites followed by four teams qualifying through their regional qualifier, have been split into two groups of eight teams each. Both these groups will be following a best-of-three, double-elimination format with the top four teams from each group qualifying for the playoffs.

Image Credit - Liquipedia


Group - A

The tournament kicked off with the first group playing a total of six matches which witnessed Vitality defeat Invictus Gaming and North on its way to the winners final, followed by Renegades defeating MIBR and Fnatic to join the French squad.

Four teams that dropped down to the lower bracket after losing their very first match are Imperial e-Sports, MIBR, Invictus Gaming, and mousesports. The four teams will be playing the eliminator tomorrow on 23rd October.

Best Moments Of The Day

The 9000 IQ play from Joakim ‘jkaem’ Myrbostad.


The series of tweets from chrisJ, woxic, and karrigan after going down to the lower bracket.


Fernando ‘fer’ Alvarenga with a brilliant triple on Mirage.


Flusha with this hilarious 2v1 ace clutch.


Shox with the walk in the park quad-kill on an eco round.



That is all the action that went down on day one, stay tuned as the second day of the event starts today with Group - B playing out its matches, as we witness the two more teams reach the winner’s final.

Match
Time
EG vs 5Power
10:00 Istanbul Time | 12:30 IST
NiP vs FURIA
10:00 Istanbul Time | 12:30 IST
Avangar vs Heroic
13:30 Istanbul Time | 16:00 IST
Na'Vi vs G2 Esports
13:30 Istanbul Time | 16:00 IST
Semifinal - 1
17:00 Istanbul Time | 19:30 IST
Semifinal - 2
20:30 Istanbul Time | 23:00 IST


Loading...
profilepic

Aditya Singh Rawattwitter_link

FOLLOW

Aditya Singh Rawat is the in-house CS:GO editor at AFK Gaming. While his understanding of the esports space is not restricted by geographical borders, his current focus lies in the Asian region. Understands and follows almost all major esport titles.