?Valve announces changes to the Dota 2 Pro Circuit for next season

Vignesh Raghuram

5o, Jun, 2018
In a surprise announcement, Valve has just revealed that they’ve made a number of changes to the Dota 2 Pro Circuit for next season. The post elaborates a number of changes which include Roster Swap deadlines, the way DPC Points are distributed, Team Ownerships, and changes to Minors and Majors.

They’ve also revealed a reduction in the number of DPC events which take place over the course of a season and have announced the dates for the Majors/Minors which have been scheduled for the 2018-19 competitive season.
Changes to rosters and roster-locks

Valve has announced that henceforth there will be no roster-swap restrictions or trade windows of any sort. Saying that they will no longer regulate player movement via hard roster locks, and changing rosters during the season will no longer disqualify a team from DPC consideration.

In the new system, whenever a player leaves/ is-removed from a team, it loses 20% of their current point total. Whereas adding new players will not earn any additional points. They also added that whenever a team doesn’t play with their official 5-man registered roster, it’ll only receive 60% of the points.

Teams wishing to be eligible for invites for the First Major/Minor Qualifiers will need to register their roster by September 15th, 2018 at 10:30 PM IST | September 16th, 2018 at 1:00 AM SGT.
Multiple Teams can no longer be owned by a Single Organization, atleast for The International 8

Image Credits:

Oof… the Chinese scene will not be happy with this change. Up until now, very few Chinese teams were outside the umbrella of LGD, Vici Gaming, IG, and Newbee. With this new rule in place, that status quo will have no option but to undergo changes.

This move also drastically reduces the power of ACE in China which is welcome, considering the reputation of the China regulatory body.
Changes to the Minors and Majors

Image Courtesy: Valve

Just like this year, the number of Minors will be exactly the same as the number of Majors. However, that seems like the only thing that Valve has chosen to not change. The number of tournaments has been drastically cut down.

Minors and Majors will be held in pairs, with Major qualifiers playing a big part in deciding the teams for the paired Minor. “The Major qualifier will run first, and teams who do not qualify for the Major will be eligible to compete in the Minor qualifiers a few days later.” The Minor Main event will happen first, the winner of which will move on to the Major Main Event.

Valve has also stated that all Minors will need to feature at least eight teams, with a minimum of one qualifier per region. The Majors, on the other hand, will need to feature a minimum of sixteen teams, with a minimum of two qualifiers per region.
Schedule of the Dota 2 Pro Circuit: 2018-19

Valve has also released the schedule of the upcoming Pro Circuit season. They also revealed that the First Major of the season has already been registered and that they were looking for applicants for all the other Majors/Minors.

You can find the schedule HERE.