New Season, New beginnings: Register for the Kuala Lumpur Major Open Qualifiers now

Shounak Sengupta

7th, Sep, 2018

It’s a new year for those aspiring to live the Dota dream and the journey begins at Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia for what is set to be the first Major of the season. While it will be the second DPC event of the season after the first Minor which is yet to be announced, as of now, it is the only one announced. The new rules also dictate that both the events will run as a pair and only teams which fail to qualify for a Major will play in the Minor qualifiers. That being said, it obviously implies that teams will try their hand at qualifying for the Major first.

The Kuala Lumpur Major will have a million dollar prize pool with 350,000$ going to the winners of the event. Additionally, the event will also have 15000 DPC points associated with it, the lion’s share of which will obviously go to the victors. As per Valve’s new guidelines, the event will be a 16 team tournament with a minimum of 2 slots per region. Since no team can directly be invited to a DPC event from this onwards, the Regional Qualifiers will have particular significance.

With teams still deciding their rosters, the organizers are yet to reveal the direct invites for the Regional qualifiers but the Open Qualifiers have been announced. All 5 regions will have 2 Open Qualifiers each. The registration links for each can be found here.

The first Open Qualifier will kick off on the 10th of September while the second one takes place from the 13th.



AFK Gaming is the home of Asian esports content that provides the latest news, coverage, interviews and original content

© 2020 AFK Gaming - All rights reserved